Hawaii

         “Aloha is a value, one of unconditional love.
Aloha is the outpouring and receiving of the spirit.”

For 10 weeks, I was able to live with family on the Hawaiian island of Oahu. Though these 10 weeks were full of play, I was actually completing my outpatient orthopedic rotation for physical therapy school at JACO Rehab. I can’t express how much knowledge and growth I received here in this realm of physical therapy. However, I won’t be sharing much of that on here.. rather more about all the playing I did during my time. (Hikes, beaches, and most importantly… FOOD!)

Hikes

#1 Koko Head Trailway

Although this was the most physically strenuous hike, it was my absolute favorite! Every hike in Hawaii is beautiful but at the top of Koko Head you have a 360 degree panoramic view that will take your breath away. At the top of this ancient volcano that last erupted 30,000-35,000 years ago, you’ll see beautiful views of Hawaii Kai and Hanauma Bay. Interestingly enough, the so called “steps” are actually railroad ties. During World War II, they built several bunkers at the top of Koko Head and along with it a railway to get supplies up and down.

View of Hawaii Kai

Koko Crater

View of Hanauma Bay

#2 Crouching Lion

Crouching Lion was not as clear of a path to find, my cousin and I actually made friends along the way and followed them. At the top, you’ll have an amazing view of Huilua Pond and Kahana Bay.

Huilua Pond

#3 Lanikai Pillbox

This was another one of my favorites! At the top of the Lanikai Pillbox trail was a perfect overhead view of Twin Islands. The trail was just recently re-opened with safer and well beaten paths created. The beach below, Lanikai Beach, was my favorite beach on Oahu. One thing neat to see was the change in currents, as you can see around the islands in the picture below due to the surrounding reefs.

 
#4 Manoa Falls

Anytime there was a waterfall involved, so was an abundance of mud and mosquitoes. However, the trek through what felt like a jungle was worth it. 

 

#5 Maunawili Falls

After a few hours, we reached Maunawili falls. When we got to the falls, we met 3 locals and one of them climbed up the sides of these cliffs and jumped off! Though its impossible to see, the area of water near the falls is really deep however I don’t think I would chance it regardless. It was still fun to watch! With each jump (75′ or so) I waited impatiently for the man to come back to the water’s surface to prove his survival, luckily he did with each attempt. 🙂 Another thing that caught my attention were the warning signs along the trail for unexploded weapons (bombs, grenades, mines, etc) that did not explode when they were employed during World War II.

I laughed at Holly, my cousin, with the way she looked hopping onto each rock so carefully. She looked like a tightrope walker. As karma would have it, I fell.

#6 Diamond Head

This was the first hike I did while in Hawaii and rightfully so with it being a state monument. Diamond Head was formed after an eruption 300,000 years ago and was the home of Fort Ruger (the first Hawaiian US military reservation). Though its a big tourist attraction and there are crowds to be dealt with, the views overlooking Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean were worth it.

Waikiki

#7 Makapu’u Lighthouse Trail

By the grace of God, we hiked Makapu’u on the day Hurricane Lane was predicted to hit. Luckily, this hurricane that was a Cat 5 24 hours earlier, dwindled down to a tropical storm that brought hardly anything to Oahu. The Makapu’u Lighthouse Trail has paved roads making it very friendly to kids or anyone who would like to take one of the easier hikes in Hawaii.

Beaches

#1 Kailua Beach

As I lived in Kailua with family, Kailua beach naturally became my second home. Though its high winds can blow sand all around, it didn’t stop me from going as often as I could. I enjoyed it here especially in the mornings when all the local morning beach walkers were out with their dogs!

#2 Lanikai Beach

Just on the other side of Kailua beach, Lanikai Beach was my favorite. Its harder to find parking here but the times I went the winds weren’t as strong as they were on Kailua Beach. The views of Twin Islands were hard to beat too and with calm waters it was ideal to dive in and swim around!

#3 Bellows Air force Base

This was a treat given by family friends. My cousin Holly, had friends visiting from Cali who had access to the Bellows Air Force Base. We went for a visit and caught the best sunset. It was also a great beach to go crabbing on at night!

#4 3 Tables

3 Tables (named for the 3 flat rocks you see out in the middle of the water) was our first snorkeling destination. Though it was fun, I would say that Hanauma Bay had a bit more to offer from a snorkeling perspective.

#5 Waikiki Beach

My mom and grandma came to visit for a few days and we all stayed at the Sheraton on Waikiki. During our time here, we took a catamaran ride and made sure to see the renown Hawaiian sunsets.

First Day in Hawaii and first time wearing my JACO Rehab shirt!

#6 Hanauma Bay

As I said above, Hanauma Bay was an amazing snorkeling experience. I saw all sorts of Hawaiian fish! Due to its popularity, its best to go early in the mornings before the park opens. Not only does it save you admission fees, but you also won’t have to fight a mass crowd giving you an ideal snorkeling experience.

If you take the Kalaniana’ole highway along the coast line to get to Hanauma Bay, you have to make time for stops along the way. On this highway is the Halona Blow hole as well as other scenic look outs like Lanai lookout and Sandy Beach.

 #7 The North Shore

I spent 1 day on the North shore and saw why it was ideal to paddle board here with such calm waters. Its surprising to think in the fall this beach has the potential to hold surfing competitions!

Food

#1 Roy’s- Hawaii Kai

I had my “farewell” dinner at Roy’s, a restaurant that’s a little on the fancier side but perfect for special occasions. Eating here at sunset is special because it has large windows all around. My entree was their Macadamia crusted fish with a molten chocolate cake for dessert.

 
#2 Kalapawai– Kailua

Kalapawai is open for breakfast/lunch/dinner but for dinner they bring in a special chef to cook! I had seared ahi for my entree and it ended up being my favorite dinner while in Hawaii.

 

#3 Gaslamp– Kailua

A speak easy, secretly located in the back of Kailua pub bar, was the neatest bar I’ve ever been too! There is limited space here so reservations are a must. During our time here, we ordered a drink that I so wish I could remember the name to!!! It was basically a suitcase filled cocktail…. as we enjoyed the “suitcase drink”, a saxophone player was playing live upstairs almost as if in the rafters! I went out here with 5 moms and they all kicked my butt in alcohol consumption.

 
#4 The Kahala– Honolulu

During my mom and grandma’s visit, we went to The Kahala. This hotel had dolphins and other sea life on location. What was neat about this restaurant was the lack of walls, though you were seated “inside” you almost felt as though you were just sitting on a massive porch. For my entree, I had Lobster Benedict.

 

#5 Sheraton-Waikiki

As previously mentioned, during my mom and grandma’s visit, we enjoyed time at the Sheraton Waikiki. We had many meals and drinks at their RumFire restaurant on site.

 

#6 Duke’s-Waikiki

Duke’s, named after the famous Hawaiian Olympic gold medalist swimmer, was just a 5 minute walk from our hotel. Pictured below is one of their infamous drinks, the “back scratcher” which comes with an actual back scratcher. Did I order this just to obtain this wooden device? Maybe.

 

Hula Pie, a life changer.

 

#7 The Royal Hawaiian– Waikiki

You can’t go to Waikiki and not get a Mai Tai at the Royal Hawaiian’s Mai Tai Bar! This is because the Mai Tai cocktail was created at this very location when the hotel was opened in 1953. When the drink’s creator made it for the first time for Tahitian friends, they cried out “Maita’i!”, meaning “good”, giving the drink its name. I agree strongly with the Tahitians.

 
#8 Nalu Health Bar and Cafe– Kailua

I went to Nalu a few times due to its convenience of being located in the town I lived in, Kailua. I loved their Ahi Tuna sandwich!

 
#9 Egghead– Kailua

With a new location in Kailua, my cousin and I went by after an early morning run for breakfast before I started my work shift. We ordered the original Mochi waffle and breakfast bowl.

 
#10 Sweet Home Cafe- Honolulu

One of my co workers recommended I go to Sweet Home Cafe for an authentic experience in Oahu. The kids came with and loved the experience as well. We were brought a bowl of chosen broth. As it heated, we went to the back storage coolers spanning the length of the wall and picked all the makings we wanted in it (noodles, veggies, meats, seafood, etc.). After dinner, we were given a complimentary shaved ice dessert to cool you down after a hot meal!

 

#11 Over Easy– Kailua

Over Easy was my favorite breakfast place in Kailua! Being family owned and run, the food is remarkable and authentic. We ordered custard french toast and the Over Easy plate.

 

#12 Honey Pina Colada at the Kapi’olani Farmers Market

 

#13 The Beetbox– Kailua

Vegan breakfast burrito, first time eating Tofu!

 

#14 Ted’s– North Shore

Giovanni’s Shrimp Truck on the North Shore is famous for their garlic shrimp however my cousin Holly felt like Teds was just as good. It was wonderful and comes with pie!!

Garlic shrimp, macaroni salad, and macadamia nut pie!

#15 Diamond Head Grill– Honolulu

Teriyaki Chicken with mac salad

#16 Andy’s Sandwiches and Smoothies- Manoa

We stopped in this tiny little shop after our Manoa Falls hike!

 

#17 South Shore Grill– Honolulu

I had the best fish tacos here and they were ENORMOUS. It was a perfect stop after our Diamond Head hike.

 

#18 Nico’s– Kailua

This was our first nice dinner while in Kailua. It was so good I forgot to take pictures of our entrees…

Haupia Pie

Kilauea Lava Flow, Kalaheo Cocojito, and ginger mojito

 

#19 Morning Brew– Kailua

Morning Brew was my go-to spot for coffee when I procrastinated going to the grocery store or just wanted a treat. Their breakfast sandwiches were just as good and fresh as their coffee.

My Home-

Below are some pictures of what home was like. The Kawainui Marsh was where I ran before work and each day I felt like it had its own unique beautiful look.

 

Sunrise in Waikele before work!

My Kailua neighborhood

 

I had the time of my life in Hawaii and can’t wait to go back. I felt that hiking was the best way to truly see the island and beaches away from big cities are truly the most beautiful. I hope one day to return and sit on Lanikai Beach admiring Twin Islands. What’s nice about Hawaii is any place you go, you can bet on it to take your breath away.

Aloha oe,

Chesney

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.